Articles


2017

"More Than a Meal: School Lunch in Japan," Education About Asia, Spring 2017. http://aas2.asian-studies.org/EAA/EAA-Archives/22/1/1468.pdf

"Table for Two USA's Wa-Shokuiku Project," Gohan Society, May 2016. http://gohansociety.org/table-for-two-usas-wa-shokuiku-project/

"Wild Uptown Adventure: Gohan Society Foragers Reunited for Tasty Expedition," Gohan Society, April 2017. http://gohansociety.org/wild-uptown-adventure-gohan-society-foragers-reunite-for-tasty-expedition/

"Glutinous Presentation Inspires Verdant Exploration," Gohan Society, March 2017. http://gohansociety.org/glutinous-presentation-inspires-verdant-exploration/

"A January Meeting with Sakura Yagi," Gohan Society, February 2017. http://gohansociety.org/a-january-meeting-with-sakura-yagi/

"Mid-Winter at Bessou," Gohan Society, January 2017. http://gohansociety.org/mid-winter-at-bessou/

2016


"Winter's Fall-Inspired Kyushoku," Gohan Society, November 2016. http://gohansociety.org/winters-fall-inspired-kyushoku/

"Chopped Parsley:Uptown Soul," Gohan Society, October 2016. http://gohansociety.org/chopped-parsley-uptown-soul/

"Foraged Flavors All Around," Gohan Society, June 2016. http://japaneseschoollunch.com/articles/season-ings-overlooked-edibles-foraged-flavors-all-around  

"Delicious Flavors Sprouting in Upper Manhattan," Gohan Society, May 2016. http://japaneseschoollunch.com/articles/season-ings-delicious-flavors-sprouting-in-upper-manhattan

"All Within: Tableware & Aesthetics in New York," Gohan Society, April 2016. http://japaneseschoollunch.com/articles/season-ings-all-within-tableware-and-aesthetics-in-new-york

"Pastel Shades of MArch," Gohan Society, March 2016. http://japaneseschoollunch.com/articles/season-ings-pastel-shades-of-march

"Hanamizuki Cafe," Gohan Society, February 2016. http://japaneseschoollunch.com/articles/season-ings-pastel-shades-of-march

"Toshikoshi Soba: A Year in a Bowl," Gohan Society, Janury 2016. http://japaneseschoollunch.com/articles/season-ings-pastel-shades-of-marc

2015


"The Inland Sea," JQ Magazine, November 2015. http://jetwit.com/wordpress/2015/11/14/jq-magazine-book-review-the-inland-sea/

"Why It's Hard to 'Change Mindsets' on Environmental Protection Among India's Elites," Asia Society, July 2015. http://asiasociety.org/blog/asia/interview-why-its-hard-change-mindsets-environmental-protection-among-indias-elites

"Japanese School Lunch: It's Not Just About the Food," Food Tank, May 2015. http://foodtank.com/news/2015/05/japanese-school-lunch-its-not-just-about-the-food

"Kissaten: Japanese Cafes Past and Present," JQ Magazine, May 2015. http://jetaany.org/2015/05/14/jq-magazine-jqa-merry-white-kissaten-japanese-cafes-present/ 

"'Life of Cats' Showcases Frisky Furballs at Japan Society," JQ Magazine, March 2015. http://jetwit.com/wordpress/2015/03/25/jq-magazine-life-of-cats-showcases-frisky-furballs-at-japan-society/
 

2014

"Tired of the Wait: Japanese Agriculture Goes Global," Global Asia, November 2014. https://www.globalasia.org/bbs/board.php?bo_table=forum&wr_id=7514

"The Kingdom of Dreams and Madness," JQ Magazine, November 2014. http://jetwit.com/wordpress/2014/11/28/jq-magazine-film-review-the-kingdom-of-dreams-and-madness/#more-36884

"Tired of the Wait: Japanese Agriculture Goes Global," Global Asia, November 2014. https://globalasia.org/bbs/board.php?bo_table=forum&wr_id=7514&sca=Global+Asia+Forum&page=5

"The Setting Sun of Autumn: Persimmons in Japan," Gohan Society, November 2014. http://gohansociety.org/the-setting-sun-of-autumn-persimmons-in-japan-by-alexis-agliano-sanborn/ 

"Discovering Burdock," Gohan Society, November 2014. http://gohansociety.org/discovering-burdock-by-alexis-agliano-sanborn/ 

"Starting Point: Hayao Miyazaki, 1979-1996," JQ Magazine, November 2014. http://jetwit.com/wordpress/2014/11/01/jq-magazine-book-review-starting-point-1979-1996-by-hayao-miyazaki/#more-36571

"JQ & A with Harry Hill, Chairman of CULCON," JQ Magazine, July 2014. http://jetaany.org/2014/07/26/jq-magazine-jqa-harry-hill-chairman-culcon/

"Journalist's 'Indus Republic' Tells a 'Ghost Story' About a Diminished River," Asia Society, June 2014. http://asiasociety.org/blog/asia/interview-journalists-indus-republic-tells-ghost-story-about-diminished-river

"Turning Point: Hayao Miyazaki, 1997-2008" JQ Magazine, May 2014. http://jetwit.com/wordpress/2014/05/10/jq-magazine-book-review-turning-point-1997-2008-by-hayao-miyazaki/

"Three Years On, Japan's Disaster Zone Needs More Than Just Money for Real Recovery," Asia Society, March 2014. http://asiasociety.org/blog/asia/three-years-japans-disaster-zone-needs-more-money-real-recovery

2013

2013

"Are American Palettes Turning Japanese?" Asia Society, December 2013. http://asiasociety.org/blog/asia/are-american-palates-turning-japanese

"'The Wind Rises' Sweeps You Away," JQ Magazine, November 2013. http://jetwit.com/wordpress/2013/11/10/jq-magazine-film-review-the-wind-rises-sweeps-you-away/

"Why Tokyo's Two Towers Embody Shift from 'Modern to Postmodern," Asia Society, November 2013. http://asiasociety.org/blog/asia/why-tokyos-two-towers-embody-shift-modern-postmodern

"Seasonal Shift: Kuzu and Japan's Autumn Plants," Gohan Society, September 2013. http://gohansociety.org/seasonal-shift-kuzu-and-japans-autumnal-plants-by-alexis-agliano-sanborn/

"The Squid Season," Gohan Society, August 2013. http://gohansociety.org/the-squid-season-by-alexis-agliano-sanborn/

"Hatcho Miso: Not Your Regular Miso," Gohan Society. July 2014. http://gohansociety.org/summer-fun-somen-fun-by-alexis-agliano-sanborn/

"Summer Fun! Somen Fun!" Gohan Society, June 2015. http://gohansociety.org/summer-fun-somen-fun-by-alexis-agliano-sanborn/